French government forces all overseas territories to suspend tourism

If you’d been considering booking a vacation to St. Barts — or any other French overseas territory — in the near future, you’ll need to rethink those plans.

New coronavirus-related restrictions imposed by the French government have forced its overseas territories, including those in the Caribbean and French Polynesia, to close for tourism indefinitely.

French Polynesia was the first of the islands to make it clear that it was temporarily closed for tourism. On Monday, the island said no tourists would be permitted to enter until further notice. The other islands of Bora Bora and Moorea have also closed to tourism for the time being.

Now, the Caribbean islands of St. Barts, St. Martin, Martinique and Guadeloupe have announced their measures in order to comply with the French government’s new requirements in an effort to reduce the chances of importing new strains of the virus.





Share this page Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on Linkedin

Discover the 'Made in France à Bahrain' Guide

'Made in France à Bahrain' - Edition 2021
is YOUR guide to the economic presence in Bahrain. Click here to view the online guide