EU to allow visitors from 14 'Covid safe' countries

The European Union (EU) has named 14 countries whose citizens are deemed "safe" to be let in from July 1, despite the pandemic, reported BBC. 


The list includes Algeria, Australia, Canada, Georgia, Japan, Montenegro, Morocco, New Zealand, Rwanda, Serbia, South Korea, Thailand, Tunisia and Uruguay, it stated. 


The major ones missing from the list include US, Brazil and China besides the GCC countries, it added.


The list was released by Council of the European Union today (June 30) after they adopted a recommendation on the gradual lifting of the temporary restrictions on non-essential travel into the EU. 


Travel restrictions should be lifted for countries listed in the recommendation, with this list being reviewed and, as the case may be, updated every two weeks, an EU press release said.


Based on the criteria and conditions set out in the recommendation, as from July 1 member states should start lifting the travel restrictions at the external borders for residents of the following third countries, it stated.


The criteria to determine the third countries for which the current travel restriction should be lifted cover in particular the epidemiological situation and containment measures, including physical distancing, as well as economic and social considerations, the report added.





Share this page Share on FacebookShare on TwitterShare on Linkedin

Listen to 'Radio FCCIB' Videos & Podcast

Radio FCCIB is the new program launched by the French Chamber of Commerce & Industry in Bahrain, asking 3 questions to its members